Island Gymnastics Academy Awards its Champions

Outstanding Gymnasts Named at Annual Awards Banquet


 (Charlottetown, PE June 25, 2012) – At the Island Gymnastics Academy’s recent annual awards banquet, the club’s top gymnasts of the year were named for the 2011-2012 season.  Gymnasts were selected from each training group based on competitive performance, work ethic, level of improvement over the year and sportsmanship. Participation medals were also awarded to the Academy’s Mini and Micro Tumblers to recognize their hard work and achievements in the pre-competitive program.

 It was an outstanding year for the Academy’s competitive teams, who competed at numerous events in the region as well as competitions in Belgium, Las Vegas, Orlando, Quebec City, Mississauga and Regina. All team members for the 2012 Eastern Canadians and Nationals were Academy gymnasts. It was also a milestone year for the club with over 1000 registered gymnasts.

 In the women’s program, award winners included Megan Doucette, Emma Christensen, Selina Mahajer, Beatrice Turner, Claudia Swyer and Jenny Campbell.

 “Each year our coaches select one deserving gymnast from each group to recognize for her achievements. Our girl’s program has never been stronger and we are really proud of our gymnasts.” says Academy Women’s Program Director, Sharon Gareau.

 The men’s program winners included Sam Mallett, Isaac Bourque, Samuel Gillis and Ted Landry. 

“We have a lot of talent and potential in our boy’s groups. We have had a really successful year and continue to build our program.” adds Head Coach Jim Rand.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.